Positive thoughts vs. Negative thoughts

In my studies at IIN, something very simple has stuck with me, however it’s been like that annoying fly in the room that no matter what you do you just can’t find the resolution. It buzzes around, you might forget about it for a while, but then next thing you know it’s pestering you agin annoying as ever. You want to get rid of it, but how?….. That’s the question I’m faced with. This morning it really struck me again when I first woke up. The very fist thought that popped into my head was “this sucks, I don’t want to get up….I hate Mondays”. Mind you I got 8 hours of sleep the night before. My mood was sour all morning. It is astonishing to think of all my thoughts throughout my days and compare the positive vs. negative. For me, I have discovered that the negative thoughts in my head far outweigh the positive. Now, I never really considered myself a pessimistic person, however I gave come to terms and admitting that apparently I am. At least I’m becoming more aware… that’s good, right?Throughout my lessons in my class, numerous speakers have touched on this topic of positive thoughts and it really makes sense. It’s so simple that negative thoughts take up so much energy and really get you nowhere. So why is it so hard for me to start thinking more positively and less negatively?

2 thoughts on “Positive thoughts vs. Negative thoughts

  1. I feel ya on this one, sister. I didn’t realize I was a negative person until people started pointing it out to me. That and my sister-in-law constantly re-affirming my “queen bitch” status. I’ll also be the first to say I have my good days, and I have my bad days. And my bad days, are BAD days. I can be too much for even my own self to handle let alone the rest of the general population.

    Well, you’re lucky I read this on a good day! I’m not going to pretend to understand your struggles, becuase everyone’s are different… but I can relate. It’s taken me an awful long time to dig my way out of the rut I’ve been in. Here are a few things I have found that help. I’ve developed a few mottos that I stick to on a daily basis: “If it matters to you, it fucking matters” and “Let it be”. I’m learning daily to give myself a little more credit and value. MY opinions and feelings matter, so what if they only matter to me, but they should not be discounted.

    That being said I’ve also had to taken another new appraoch to life in just letting things be. I can’t speed up rush hour morning traffic, and if I’m late the world surely isn’t going to end. There are a lot of frusterating things in life we don’t have control over. I am trying, trying, trying, to just let them be and see life for the bigger picture. Easier said than done, and again, I have my days. It’s hard not to focus on all the negative around you especially on those shitty, awful, cold, dreadful days but I challenge you to try to find something, anything that’s good. Sometimes you have to look for the small things and let those add up. Take a minute to yourself and just breathe in the good shit, breathe out the bad shit.

    I have a killer, awesome yoga class that I constantly confess is the best part of my Mondays. Believe it or not but it actually gets me pumped up on Sunday night to wake up Monday morning and trudge through the Monday work day just to get to that class and challenge myself both mentally and physically. Maybe you create a habit or doing something you truly enjoy on Monday nights. Maybe it’s ice cream and wine night, or you rent a new movie every week, or some type of fitness class, but let that take priority of your Monday nights. Don’t give it up for anything. That way you always have one thing to look forward to. Let it be a night to release yourself of you nightly routine and allow yourself to give yourself the love and admiration you deserve.

    … Just some thoughts 🙂

Leave a Reply

